## **Colville Tribes**

- The Colville Indian Reservation was established in 1872.
- The Colville Indian Reservation land base covers 1.4 million acres covering parts of Ferry and Okanogan counties and is divided into four districts – Omak, Nespelem, Keller and Inchelium.
- The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation is a Sovereign Nation.
- The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation is a federally recognized American Indian Tribe.
- Today, over 9,520 descendants of 12 aboriginal tribes of Indians are enrolled in the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation. The tribes are: the Colville, the Nespelem, the San Poil, the Lake, the

- Palus, the Wenatchi (Wenatchee), the Chelan, the Entiat, the Methow, the southern Okanogan, the Moses Columbia and the Nez Perce of Chief Joseph's Band. Approximately 50% of the tribal members reside on or near the reservation.
- Colville Reservation lands are diverse with natural resources including standing timber, streams, rivers, lakes, minerals, varied terrain, native plants, and fish and wildlife.
- The Colville Tribes followed the seasons of nature over the mountains and valleys of this region hunting, fishing, gathering foods and medicines, and trading and bartering. Each tribal member performed a certain role or task which contributed to the survival of the tribe.

